To Detox or Not To Detox

To Detox or Not To Detox

That is the question. The answer, Bob and I are planning to do a week detox. We decided Monday morning was going to be a new week and we were going to limit some things to give our bodies a little break. Over the weekend, we both enjoyed drinks, pizza, cupcakes, Shamrock shake, etc. and feeling like we need this detox. Over the course of the week, we will have zero alcohol, limit sugar & carbs, drinks lot of water & green tea (we already do this one) and enjoy whole fresh foods.

I know this is what my body needs and hoping that by Friday (or maybe I’ll go the entire weekend as well), I will be  feeling really good. Now, don’t get me wrong, I do believe that you shouldn’t limit yourself but there are other ways to help keep a balanced diet. This weekend we went a little over board and now we are feeling it. Remember to consult with a health professional before making any changes to your diet or exercise program. I bought the Yogi detox tea over the weekend so I might give that a try as well.

The hardest thing for me will be to limit the spinach muffins & banana bread this week. I’ll have to keep telling myself that those items are for Keely. We are planning to enjoy a lot of smoothies & start juicing this week. Smoothies are great because you can put lots of veggies in them and have it takes like a banana smoothie plus Keely goes crazy for my green smoothies. I am going to try and incorporate the following into each meal (more than I do now): fruits, veggies, protein, healthy fats & whole grain.

I will keep you updated on our progress throughout the week and again, hopefully by the weekend we are feeling much better. Make sure that you check back on Thursday for the Trainer Tip Thursday post. I am hoping to get a great workout for you all from B-O-B. I hope you all have a great day!! Cheers (with water or green tea)!!

Have you ever tried a detox? If so, any helpful suggestions?

2 thoughts on “To Detox or Not To Detox

  1. I’ve never tried a detox. The idea of only drinking juice kind of freaks me out. Plus I would miss food too much. I def. am trying to get back on track with healthy eating during the week. Sometimes my weekends can be a sugar overload!

    1. I hear you with the whole only drinking juice, don’t think I could do it. I feel great today that I have limited the sugar and carbs but we’ll see how the day progresses. Weekends are always bad but I have to think of them like any other day. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

