R-E-S-P-E-C-T

R-E-S-P-E-C-T

Find out what it means to me! Respect, a word that can mean so much but also so little. A few friends of mine were talking about this word and we feel we lack it in our lives at times. When looking the word respect up, this is what it says…

To take notice of; to regard with special attention; to regard as worthy of special consideration; hence, to care for; to heed.

Now with that being said, I like to think that I am rather respectful to people’s feelings, thoughts & personal items. I don’t go through my day thinking of how I can hurt someone to better myself but then again, who does? I feel respect is a two-way street and if you want respect, you have to give respect. I know that we all have a little selfishness in us because you have to do things for yourself but you also want to make sure you are respecting others when doing those things.

IMG_0880

I have noticed lately that disrespect for me happens a lot in the workplace. The thing about it, again, you can’t rely on others to help you get ahead in life, especially career wise because you are all going after the same thing…SUCCESS! But I am the type of person that I like to see other people succeed and will always give credit to where credit is due. I think there is a line drawn with senior staff members compared to entry-level staff member and that kind of sucks because you want to know that your supervisor is respecting you and giving you credit but that’s not always the case.

IMG_0877

I was taught at a young age that most people are not going to be there for you and you have to be there for yourself first. You have to make sure that if you want to succeed or get something done, to do it yourself. It’s the same with the whole LOVE thing, you must love yourself before you can love anyone else. You must RESPECT yourself before you can RESPECT others. I love the following quote, “ Respect yourself enough to walk away from anything that no longer serves you, grows you or makes you happy.” I think this quote really says it all. Why stay in something (career, relationship, marriage, etc) that doesn’t help make you a better person.

There is so much negativity in this world, why not be happy, respected and positive. You only have one life to live so make it the BEST. Respect others so that you will be respected and always remember to respect others, you MUST respect yourself FIRST!! What does the word respect mean to you and do you see disrespect in your life at times?

IMG_0878

Leave a Reply

