The Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda

The Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda

The other day I was watching Sex and the City (it’s what happens when you have a sleeping toddler and house to yourself) and it was the one about “Coulda, Woulda. Shoulda and it got me thinking how I’ve been “shoulding” myself a lot lately. I’ve been home with Keely now for over a month. I was asked the other day, was it by choice? And honestly, I didn’t know how to answer it. Do I answer it with “well, my old company didn’t need me anymore” or “well, yes, it was my decision to be home with my daughter.” Actually it’s a little bit of both. My old job didn’t need my services anymore so I’ve been looking for a job in the time being but would love to spend everyday with my little munchkin.

Do I want to go back to the 40 hours a week (plus) in the office and never see Keely, NO! I would love that perfect job…part time in the office, part time at home or full time at home. Yes, I would have child care for Miss K but at least I’d see her when she gets up & be able to have breakfast and lunch with her which I enjoy doing now that I am home. I’ve been doing a lot of phone interviews and in-person interviews but nothing has really made me jump for joy. I want to make my next career move a good one and one that I am at for many years.

I have a hard time letting go of not being able to provide for Keely but Bob is doing a great job providing for us. I liked being able to go out and shop with “my money” whenever I wanted too. I loved being able to buy Keely lots of things and go to different places. Now we must live within our means which we are lucky because we are still able to do a lot of things. Bob was so nice and surprised me with a little shopping because he knows I’ve been down lately.

I mentioned to him the other day, how I “should’ve” stayed at the place I was at back in April but I was faced with a career move that I thought would be good for me and my family to only find myself totally mislead. I then had to ask my old boss for my job back and they brought me on as a contractor but for only 3 months. I thought they would def sign on for another year but that wasn’t the case. All I did the month of August was keep saying, “I could’ve done this or I would’ve done that or I should’ve just said no.”

Now over a month from being jobless (well, actually I have the best job in the world…being a MOM) and I am starting to realize everything happens for a reason and I wouldn’t trade being home with Keely for anything. She lights up my day and I love that she is attached to me. My mom is one of my best friends and I hope in the future Keely will say the same about me. So for now, I’m saying goodbye to the “Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda.”

Quote of the Day

As we drive along this road called life, occasionally a gal will find herself a little lost. And when that happens, I guess she has to let go of the coulda, shoulda, woulda, buckle up and just keep going.

XOXO,

Karen

What are you “shoulding” yourself about lately?

3 thoughts on “The Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda

  1. This post has perfect timing for me. I have a 3 month old and I’m trying to decide if I’m going to student teach in January. I’m struggling with the thought of leaving my daughter in daycare and paying full-time tuition to student teach when I’m probably not going to work full-time until my kids are in school.

    I can totally relate to everything you’re feeling – thanks for this post! 🙂

    1. Hi Joanna! Thanks for the comment. It’s def a tough decision and something you have to follow your heart about when making it. I went back to work full time after the 3-months of maternity leave and didn’t realize how much I missed when I was gone. I was also traveling as well so my daughter would stay with my parents for a number of days. I know now that I’d rather be home with my daughter and only work part-time or work from home if needed. They grow up so fast and you only have so long with them. Enjoy each day with your little one. I loved every stage of my daughters life so far but I really loved the 3-6 month age because that’s when their personalities are really coming out. Have a great week!!

  2. Great blog today! Loving the quote! and there is no better job in the world then being a Mom, and you are a Wonderful Mom to Keely, and you are my Best Friend too! Enjoy this time with Keely, because they grow up so fast!! Love xoxo

Leave a Reply

